Exciting News for Houston Celiacs!

I’m excited to announce that I will be working with the newly formed Gluten Intolerance Group of Greater Houston this year!  The group launched in January 2013, and will be having it’s first meeting this Sunday, August 11th.  I met with the group’s founder, Ashley Smith recently, and see the group as the ideal way to increase collaboration and community among celiacs throughout all of Houston.  I really encourage those with celiac to attend the meeting next week-I’m a huge proponent of finding support, and believe that interactions with those who understand and can relate to our disorders help keep us focused on maintaining a strict gluten-free diet!

I especially encourage college celiacs in the Houston area to attend as well!  Unfortunately,  I won’t be at this meeting (I’m back home in New York for the week), but will be helping out with group and will definitely be at the next meeting.  It’s not only a great opportunity to make some gluten intolerant friends within our demographic, but will also be a chance to eat some delicious gluten-free pizza.  Russo’s New York Pizzeria, located on Westheimer Road, will be hosting a GF Pizza Party.  Check out my Russo’s review here (summary: it’s an incredible restaurant with delicious gluten-free options) and go check it out next week!

Check out the event info and be sure to like the GIG of Greater Houston’s Facebook page to stay up-to-date!

What gluten-free support groups are you a member of?  What do you look for in a celiac support group?  Comment below and let me know!

Image


Leave a comment