Restaurant Review: Russo’s New York Pizzeria

As a native New Yorker, and previous fan of authentic Bronx pizza (before I was diagnosed with celiac disease, of course), I’ve come to realize that it’s incredibly difficult to master the art of gluten-free pizza making. Thin crust pizza is especially challenging, and I don’t think that I have ever seen a slice of gluten-free pizza with that air bubble characteristic of a ‘glutened’ slice. And, while I am not only plagued by the endless search to find a delicious gluten-free thin crust pizza, I also spend eleven months out of the year in Houston, Texas, quite a distance away from New York.
Russo’s New York Pizzeria, however, helped bring a slice of gluten-free, New York-style pizza to Houston! I had heard of Russo’s gluten-free options during the Celiac Expo I attended in June, and decided that a Friday evening would be the perfect time to try some of their dishes. My friend and I decided to reward ourselves for surviving the hectic workweek, and visited Russo’s Galleria Area location, located on Westheimer Road.
We sampled a pasta dish and specialty pizza! Both were gluten-free of course! Here is my review of both dishes:
Pizza: New York Village
Pizza Russo's

pizza1

The New York Village Pizza was topped with pepperoni, sausage, mushrooms, olives, peppers, Canadian bacon, hamburger meat, and mozzarella cheese! I particularly enjoyed the taste and texture of the crust; it was the perfect combination of thin and crispy. The toppings were yummy as well. So far, this is probably the best gluten-free pizza I have tasted in restaurants!

Pasta: Baked Ziti
I thought Russo’s did a fantastic job with their pasta dish! The gluten-free pasta maintained its structure, did not break, and had a flavor that matched well with the cheese and sauce. Next time I venture to Russo’s I’ll definitely be more adventurous and try a “less traditional” pasta dish; however, this gave me a great opportunity to evaluate the mechanics of this gluten-free dish.
pasta1
Overall, Russo’s did a fantastic job with their gluten-free options! Personally, I think that gluten-free appetizer options would add to the overall dining experience. Something like gluten-free mozzarella sticks, or soft breadsticks would complement the rest of the meal perfectly.
Have you been to Russo’s? If so, what have you tried? If not, where do you get your gluten-free pizza? Comment below and let me know!


Leave a comment