The Best Things in Life are….Macaroons?

There is one word that nearly all celiacs have come to fear when outside of the home: bakery. A bakery is a dangerous land, where the air is thick with wheat flour, and the threat of gluten contamination imminent.
You can imagine, then, my excitement when Tim Hortons Cafe and Bake Shop sent me a sample of their certified gluten-free Coconut Macaroons! The company is committed to providing a gluten-free, no stress snack, and even partnered with the Gluten-Free Certification Organization (part of the Gluten Intolerance Group of North America). I cannot stress enough the importance of this GFCO backing; Tim Hortons has gone above and beyond to ensure that this Macaroon is safe for us celiacs to eat. It’s a relief to be able to go to their restaurants and know that there’s a quick option to grab as a snack if necessary.  I can definitely think of times when I forgot to bring a gluten-free snack on a road trip or long drive with some of my friends from Rice, and having Tim Hortons as another establishment with gluten-free choices makes life a bit simpler for a person with celiac disease.

macaroon2

Certified Gluten-free!
Certified Gluten-free!

In terms of consistency and taste, I was more than impressed by the macaroon!  Honestly, I was expecting the macaroon to fall apart upon the first bite; I’m used to having to catch the crumbs and cookie pieces while eating.  This macaroon, however, stayed completely intact.  In terms of taste, this was one of the best macaroons I’ve had.  I’m used to a drier, flakier, and overall blander taste from store-bought gluten-free macaroons; Tim Hortons perfected the moist and sweet taste that makes their macaroons a pleasure to eat!


macaroon1

Have you tried Tim Hortons macaroons yet? If not, what macaroons do you eat? Comment below and let me know!


One thought on “The Best Things in Life are….Macaroons?

  1. Those look a lot like Jennies Coconut Macaroons, which are also very good. I found them in a couple of stores in the north burbs of Chicago; don’t know if you can get them in Texas.

Leave a comment