Back for the Summer and Gillian’s Apple Crisp Review

I’m back!  After a stressful and busy college semester, summer has finally arrived, and though it will still be busy (MCAT studying, furthering my efforts in research, work), the days will be longer, and I will be able to devote much more time to baking, sampling products, and stay up-to-date with the latest celiac research (future gastroenterologist in the works)!  I wanted to feature a product review as my first post-hiatus blog post, as I have a feeling that many more are soon to come (one of the perks of being home for May-so many gluten-free products to try).

Shop Rite is an amazing place to try in the Northeast if you are looking for some new gluten-free finds.  It’s well stocked, and since May is National Celiac Awareness Month (and my birthday), announcements were made in the store promoting celiac disease and the gluten-free section.  We went to check it out, and I stumbled upon Gillian’s Wheat & Gluten-Free line of pies.    We picked up a gluten-free apple crisp and excitedly brought it home to try.  I checked out the website for the company, and found a plethora of gluten-free products; so far, the crisp is the only product I’ve tried, but am interested in sampling more of their products, as the pictures of their rolls looked quite delicious.

P1070916

We baked the pie for about 1 hour, 20 minutes at 350 degrees, and let it cool for about 20.

I was blown away by this apple crisp! The crust was well made, and the flavor of the filling complemented the crust perfectly.  It really didn’t taste gluten-free.  It reminded me of the pies we used to bake before I was diagnosed with celiac disease, using apples from our backyard.  The filling and crumble on top of the crisp perfectly balanced the tart and sweet flavors, and is a dessert well complemented with a scoop of ice cream on top!

Expert tip: make sure to follow the directions and let the crisp cool in order to neatly cut the ideal slice (we may have rushed this step in anticipation of eating it)!

P1070917Have you tried any of Gillian’s products?  Enjoyed one of the company’s pies?  Let me know below!


Leave a comment