Making the Best of Celiac Disease-Humor is Always Good!

Celiac disease is something that I’ve never been upset about.  Granted, we’ve all been in situations where someone has offered us a pretzel, or cake, and then remembers that we have a gluten intolerance and can’t eat it.  Our response, however, always differs; some celiacs laugh it off, some celiacs actually get upset, and, if you’re as funny as I am, some will make a joke and pretend like we’re actually upset.  I’ve never been sad or depressed about having celiac, and I don’t get offended when others offer something and then remember my disease-instead, I’m flattered that they do remember!!

If we can’t make the best of our disease, then our lives are spent pretty much pitying ourselves and hoping for a magic pill that would allow us to eat whatever we wanted (fun fact-it’s currently being synthesized!).

Last semester, while studying for my orgo exam/browsing the internet (I’m a good pre-med, don’t worry!), I stumbled upon this awesome website made by someone who knows how to have a good time with his gluten intolerance.  Check out this comic strip

http://www.howardtheceleriac.com/comics/353

Howard the Celeriac is an amazing comic website about a stick of celery with celiac disease!!  I honestly have spent hours and hours browsing through the comics, laughing to myself, and secretly calling all my friends gluters!  Granted, the comics are a bit over-exaggerated (it’s not that bad as a celiac, I swear), but so funny!! Here are a few of my favorites!

This is the worst feeling ever!

Thankfully, I didn’t have to go through this!

I always do this during dinner-people ask questions!! My response is always lengthy too!

I remember the days when restaurants used to be like this!

Gluters…….

How do you make the best of your disease?  Comment below!


One thought on “Making the Best of Celiac Disease-Humor is Always Good!

  1. I’ve never been upset about it either. I joke about it, and generally don’t take anything too seriously. Compared to my food allergies, asthma and eczema, celiac disease seems pretty easy!

Leave a comment