Staying Healthy While In College & Living with Celiac Disease

Every college student struggles with the concept of stay healthy, especially during freshmen year.  Thankfully, as a student with celiac disease, a lot of unhealthy options, such as fried foods, pizzas, and decadent desserts are off-limits.  However, with a dining hall that offers unlimited foods, it’s still easy to lose track of what you’re eating.  If you’re like me and have a sucky metabolism (that darn celiac disease made me gain weight instead of lose it), it’s important to keep some track of what you’re eating. Many websites offer programs in which you can track your food and exercise and maintain a healthy college lifestyle.  However, what about us celiacs?  Many of these websites don’t have gluten-free products to track.  A gluten-free cookie has nutrient information that differs greatly from a glutinous cookie.

So naturally, when a website called SlimKicker asked if I wanted to check out their website and nutrient tracker, I was a little skeptical.  I know how hard to it to cater a website to a specific part of the population, especially the gluten-free community.  However, I made an account, and attempted to record my food intake for the day.

You can imagine my surprise then, when I found that SlimKicker does have an incredible amount of gluten-free products to log!!  I was able to correctly put in my food intake and exercise for the day.  As we adjust to the gluten-free diet, it’s important to take note of what we are eating, especially because many gluten-free foods are higher in fat and calories than the glutinous versions.

SlimKicker will definitely be integrated into my college life next semester, and serves as a reminder that we should be thankful enough to be diagnosed with a disease that can be managed simply through a change in diet and healthier lifestyle!


Leave a comment