My Christmas Has Put Me In A Gluten-Free Food Coma

Hope that your holiday season has been full of gluten-free deliciousness!  Our family celebrated Christmas, and I’m pretty sure that my family and I ate for about 36 consecutive hours.  Our Christmas Eve dinner consisted of lobster, but it was our meal on Christmas Day that stole the show.  Check out some pictures below! Keep in mind that there were only four of us!!

full table foodOur menu consisted of the following:

ravioliWe started off the night with  Conte’s Ravioli.  You can find these in many health food stores and in many regular supermarkets today.  We cooked them and then sauteed them in a butter and poppy seed sauce. These ravioli were delicious, and were stuffed with a really good ricotta cheese.  These complemented our second pasta dish, lasagna, perfectly.

lasagnaWe made a meatless lasagna using Tinkyada lasagna noodles.  These are made from rice and thankfully, don’t break easily, making them very easy to work with.  Check out my lasagna recipe here!

turkey

gravyWe continued with a SIXTEEN-POUND turkey stuffed with gluten-free stuffing.  Here’s a link to my super-simple stuffing recipe!  My dad whipped up some gluten-free gravy; he uses corn starch instead of wheat flour to thicken it up.  It works really well!

potatoesMy sister also made some delicious mashed potatoes.  Note the salad hiding in the corner, as we attempted to add some green veggies to our meal!

For dessert I prepared a white cake with chocolate frosting using Duncan Hines Chocolate Frosting (labeled gluten-free) and Namaste Foods White Cake Mix.  I’ll post a product review of the cake mix soon!

cakeWhat gluten-free treats did you prepare for the holiday season?!  Let me know by commenting below!


Leave a comment