Product Review- feel good foods Vegetable Egg Rolls

Though I’ve returned to Rice University, I am still recovering from the obnoxiously large amount of gluten-free food I consumed over Thanksgiving break.  While my family and I prepared a lot of homemade gluten-free recipes, the break also presented the perfect opportunity to sample some gluten-free prepared foods from our local DiCicco’s Food Market, located in Brewster, New York.  DiCicco’s has a marvelous gluten-free selection, often featuring new brands of gluten-free foods.  My mother and I discovered feel good foods Vegetable Egg Rolls during our last trip, and I was eager to try them before I left for Rice

At first, I was a bit skeptical about these egg rolls; I was worried that because the dough did not contain gluten, it would break open easily, and quickly pictured the filling leaking out as it baked.  Much to my surprise, however, the dough remained, for the most part, in tact.

Our gluten-free chef enjoyed them too!

The egg rolls were incredible; they definitely didn’t taste gluten-free.  I’m still amazed by the consistency of the dough-it’s obvious that feel good foods had definitely put a lot of thought into making sure these gluten-free egg rolls tasted like they had just arrived from a local Chinese restaurant.

As celiacs, we obviously are aware of the dangers of eating at Chinese restaurants.  We’re severely restricted not only by issues of cross contamination in restaurants, but by hidden sources of gluten as well.  Most generic brands of soy sauce contain wheat; thus, our options are often limited to plain, steamed white rice.  I was overjoyed that I could enjoy some Chinese favorites at home, gluten-free!  

Unfortunately, there’s still an unopened box of feel good foods gluten-free dumplings in my freezer back home (though I wouldn’t be surprised if my family has tried them!)  I’m looking forward to trying some more of their products over winter break!

Let me know of your gluten-free Asian finds!


Leave a comment