Professing my Love for Schar Multigrain Bread: A Product Review

I’m in love; well, that may be stretching it a bit, but I discovered a new obsession this weekend when I purchased Schar gluten-free multigrain bread. Though there have been significant improvements in the realm of gluten-free breads since I was diagnosed about 7 years ago, many breads made from processed rice flours with little nutritional value (or taste) are still out there, and unfortunately, over-priced.  Furthermore, I’m well acquainted with breads that look and taste like cardboard.

You can imagine that I was more than ecstatic when I discovered the multigrain bread; it’s made from rice, soy, AND buckwheat flour.  I made a yummy turkey and cheese sandwich yesterday, which kept me full for hours. I credit this to the different types of grains used in the bread.  It’s not just bread made from refined white rice flour.  Instead, its a product that not only nutritious, but reminds me of whole grain wheat bread.  This is a bread that I highly recommend.

For celiacs in college: keep a loaf of Schar bread in your refrigerator in your dorm room.  Cafeterias at colleges and universities almost always have stations in which students can make their own sandwiches.  Simply bring two slices next time you head there for lunch, and make yourself a gluten-free sandwich!  It’s important not to feel deprived on the gluten-free diet!!

I’m interested in seeing how creative I can get with this Schar product. I’m considering experimenting with a grilled cheese recipe, and maybe even making French Toast this weekend!  Look out for my next post, which is a simple gluten-free stuffing recipe using Schar bread! What are your favorite Schar products?!


Leave a comment