Ella’s Bellas Gluten-Free Bakery

IMG_5707 (2)

This past weekend I flew home to New York to spend some time with my family and attend the wedding of a family friend in Brooklyn!   Since my last adventure home was in early April, my parents decided to take us out to lunch and celebrate my recent birthday (apparently I turned twenty-two, though at times I still feel like a small child). Regardless, my sister and were treated to a delicious, gluten-free, Thai lunch at our favorite restaurant, Sukothai, located in Beacon, New York (you can check out my previous post about the restaurant here). Since we had some extra time before I needed to be at the airport, we decided to take a quick stroll around the town, which is slowly gaining popularity and features numerous antique shops, vintage clothing stores, and art galleries. As we walked by a bakery, a small sign caught my eye; it said “Ella’s Bellas: Gluten-Free Bakery”. I promptly abandoned my family on the street and walked inside, full of questions. Surely, this bakery wasn’t completely gluten-free. To my surprise, however, it was!

IMG_5703 (1)

IMG_5704 (1)

I was elated to find a gluten-free bakery that was so crowded, even on a Monday afternoon. Upon finding out the bakery was completely gluten-free, we walked up to the counter and placed our order. I had a difficult time selecting a dessert from the huge selection of gluten-free items, but in the end, I decided to try a gluten-free cupcake. As a veteran celiac, I’ve tried numerous brands of cupcake mixes, but I’m always eager to sample cupcakes made from scratch! My sister ordered a huge macaroon filled with jam, and my dad tried a raspberry, chia seed, and oat bar. We also added a single shot of espresso to our order, in true Italian fashion.

IMG_5706 (2)

DSCN0691

The baked goods from Ella’s Bellas were incredible. I was amazed at the quality and taste of all three of the items we tried. The cupcake was light and airy, and didn’t crumble like most gluten-free versions. The macaroon also had a light consistency, and flaked perfectly. My dad, newly gluten-free, particularly enjoyed his oat bar as well!

The gluten-free desserts weren’t the only highlight of the bakery; the décor of Ella’s Bellas was also cute and quaint, and if I lived in Beacon, I would spend a lot of time here blogging and chatting with other patrons.

Next time I’m back in New York, I’ll have to make another trip to Ella’s Bellas and try some of the rustic, gluten-free bread loaves they had for sale.

Have you tried Ella’s Bellas? Do you have a gluten-free bakery in your town? Comment below and let me know!


Leave a comment